Opportunities – Grants and Awards

Futhermore Grants


The Furthermore program is concerned with nonfiction book
publishing about the city; natural and historic resources;
art, architecture, and design; cultural history; and civil
liberties and other public issues of the day. Our grants
apply to writing, research, editing, design, indexing,
photography, illustration, and printing and binding. Grants
made directly to the publishers must be nonprofit in
nature. Grants from $500 to roughly $15,000 are awarded in
spring and fall with March 15 and September 15 deadlines.


A Room Of Her Own Foundation Literary Gift of Freedom Award

A Room Of Her Own Foundation is dedicated to helping women artists achieve the privacy and financial support necessary to pursue their art. Toward this end, the foundation annually provides an award of $50,000 to a woman writer.

The foundation’s 2009 Literary Gift of Freedom Award will be given to an American woman writer who is a U.S. citizen and will be living in the U.S. during the grant period.

Acceptable genres for this grant are poetry, playwriting, creative nonfiction, and fiction.

Visit the foundation’s Web site for complete program guidelines. (Please note: The program requires an application fee.)

A Room of Her Own

Princess Grace Foundation-USA Awards in Theater, Playwriting, Dance, Choreography, and Film

The Princess Grace Foundation-USA has announced the availability of applications for the 2008 Princess Grace Awards in Theater, Playwriting, Dance Performance, Choreography, and Film. The foundation is dedicated to identifying and assisting emerging artists in theater, dance, and film and awards grants to individual artists across the United States.

Theater Awards take the form of scholarships, apprenticeships, and fellowships. Grants are awarded based on the quality of the emerging artists’ past work, their potential for future excellence, and the impact the collaboration between the nominating organization and the artist will have on the individual’s artistic growth. The Playwriting Award includes a residency at New Dramatists, Inc. in New York City. Individuals may submit an unproduced, unpublished full-length play for consideration. (Deadline: March 31, 2008).

Dance Performance Awards take the form of scholarships and fellowships. Awards are based on the applicant’s artistic merit, significance of the award to her/his current artistic development, and the potential for future excellence and impact on the field. Choreography Fellowships offer emerging choreographers the opportunity to create a new work with a company with which they have little experience. (Deadline: April 30, 2008).

Some theater and dance companies who host apprenticeship and fellowship recipients receive an additional grant to be used for general operating expenses.

Film Scholarships, awarded to both undergraduate and graduate students, are by invitation only. Universities, colleges, and schools are invited to submit applicants via their department chairs, deans, or professors. Film scholarships provide funding toward the filmmakers thesis film. A complete list of accepted schools is on the foundation’s Web site. (Deadline: June 2, 2008).

All Princess Grace Awards applicants must be U.S. citizens or have permanent resident status. In addition, all applicants (except playwriting) must be nominated by a nonprofit organization (school or company) with which they will be affiliated during the grant period (September 2008-August 2009).

Full guidelines and applications are available at the foundation’s Web site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s